Posted by: Sara S. | January 25, 2010

Crazy .Eights

I don’t understand physics, chemistry or science of any kind. I especially don’t understand the physics, chemistry or science-of-any-kind related to technology. Therefore, I cannot rule out any technological glitch causing my scale to read out weights that only end in .8. Maybe it’s the tilt of my bedroom floor or my 21st-floor altitude or (mis)wiring issues. Or, maybe, my body only loses weight in even amounts because it knows I am number-dumb. It does make my job easier since, in addition to science, I also don’t do math. I started at 159.8 pounds so the subtraction is quite easy every week when I weigh in at this-.8 or that-.8. And, yes, this week it was 143.8 lbs. I don’t know what it is about being below 145, but seeing that three was magical. No doubt, I will be waking up my neighbors with yelps at 6:45am on the morning I dip below 140. It’s coming, it’s coming… But of course, when it comes, it won’t be 139.0, it’ll be 139.8.

Leave a Reply

Categories

